The Tipp Roller Mill was built in 1839 by brothers Uriah and James John to produce flour. The mill is three stories tall and includes 9 bays. The best of the modern building materials of the time were used for its construction, including a covering of shiplap and weatherboard.
Water flowing through Tipp's canal lock on the Miami-Erie Canal powered a rotating wooden wheel that was attached to wheat grinders inside the mill. This mechanism used rollers to crush the grain rather than the more commonly used mill stones. This system made the mill quite unique for its time. Years later, after that canal was no longer a viable source of power, a diesel engine was installed to drive the grinding rollers.
Over the years, the mill operated under various names including: The Tipp Roller Mill, The Paragon Mill, Ethel’s Mill, and Falls Milling. Flour produced at the Mill was sold under the brand names Snowball and Quality Flours. It was carried to distributors in Cincinnati via the canal.
The John brothers eventually sold the mill to another pair of brothers: John & Benjamin Herr. The Herr’s owned the mill for 36 years and enlarged the mill and its operations to include distribution in addition to Cincinnati to the the north and east.
The mill changed hands several times until 1897, when W.H. Ethell brought the mill. Ethell remodeled the mill as the community around it grew and began to flourish with the opening of numerous other manufacturers and businesses, including the Tipp Cannery which is still in operations.
The Miami Conservancy, a government-established Great Miami River management agency in Southwest Ohio, took over the mill in 1917. They leased it to various tenants while they were involved in some of the changes taking place in the town of Tippecanoe, including the closing of the canal and the elevation of Main Street in January of 1920.
The mill was privately owned once again in 1929 by Estey O. Mohr until he passed away and left it to his son, Donald Mohr, who operated it until 1938 when it was sold again.
The new owner and his wife, Charles and Eloise Poston, began the trend of antiques sales in Tipp City when they opened a charming Mill Antique Shop in 1942. It was at this time that the building ceased to operate as a mill. Several other business have since operated in the Tipp Roller Mill building including The Country Store Gift Shop operated by Elaine Samply, The T.L. Samply and Associates Real Estate office, and the Ginghamsburg United Methodist Church Clothes Line.
The Mill is now is used as a venue for theater and music performances; and it can be rented for weddings, parties, and other events.